Using Next Gen Chat as an Agent

Last Updated -

Note: This is an article that references chat in the Next Gen Agent console. If you want to read about using chat in the Classic Agent Console, go here.

Overview

This article will give you a preview of how chat works from an Agent's point of view in the Next Gen Agent Console.

Entering a Chat

When a chat comes in and routing is enabled, the chat should appear on the Agent's screen in the left-hand navigation under Case Filters in the Chat Cases filter.

 

Accepting a Chat

Entering a chat is easy. Click into Chat Cases to open the chat,  just like a normal case, or accept the incoming chat message in the upper-right of the screen. This will let the customer know the Agent has entered the chat. The chat timer will track case time under Case Details.
 

Declining a Chat

Declining a chat is just as simple, by clicking on the X icon in the incoming chat message pop-up. Routing will automatically be turned off and the chat case will be routed to the next available agent. Since routing is disabled when you decline the chat, simply click on the play icon button again to enable it to allow chat cases to be routed.
 

During the Chat

Once the Agent has entered a chat, the Agent should keep the chat open until the customer has left or ended the chat. Closing the chat will alert the customer that the Agent has left and that they have been put back in the queue. 

A few thing to keep in mind when using chat:

  • Pressing Ctrl+Enter (Command+Enter in Mac) in a chat case will send the message.  
  • Macros used in chat will be reformatted to fit on one line.
  • If textile syntax formatting is enabled, it will not work in chat replies.
  • URLs will automatically be formatted as a link if the URL contains www. or https://.
  • Liquid variables still work normally in responses

Ending the Chat

The first and most immediate way to a end a chat is if either the Agent or the customer clicks "End chat" and the session ends immediately. If the customer simply closes the window, the Agent will not be alerted until the chat times out due to inactivity. Alternatively, resolving the case on the Agent's side will tell the customer that they have been placed back into the queue. If the Agent closes a live chat they will see the following pop-up:



 

Related Articles