Deleting Cases

Last Updated -

Overview

There may be instances when a case, or cases, need to be deleted, for example when a duplicate case is created or when spam emails come into filters. The ability to delete cases allows agents to keep filters uncluttered by removing any unnecessary cases. Within the Classic Agent console it is possible to delete an individual case or multiple cases via a Bulk Update.

It is also possible to delete an interaction, or interactions, on a case rather than the whole case itself. For information on how to do this in the Classic Agent console pleas refer to Erasing Erasing Personal Information

Note: This article references the Classic Agent console and not the Next Generation Console. Please refer to Delete a Case for information on how to do this in the Next Generation Agent console 
 

Prerequisites

In order for an Agent to delete a case, the Delete Cases setting needs to be enabled. 

  1. Go to Admin > Cases > Agents
  2. Find the Delete Cases setting and select which Agents have permission to delete cases. Click Update.
 
 

Once this is enabled, there are several ways to delete a case.

You can delete an individual case from the filter view if the Default Case Filter View is set to Full within the Agent Settings. This will display a Delete option next to the case within the filter view.
 





From the filter view click the "Delete" option next to the appropriate case.



If you set the Default Case Filter View to Table instead, as shown above, you can delete a case by clicking on the downward arrow and selecting "Actions" from the dropdown menu. Once that has been selected, the Delete icon will appear on the right next to the case.


A case can also be deleted by opening it, and scrolling down to the bottom left of the case panel until you see the "Delete Case" link:


Or, you can delete multiple cases via a Bulk Update. You will first need to perform a search to bring up the cases that you’re looking to delete. Alternately, you can view a filter that contains cases you want to perform a bulk deletion on. Please refer to Updating Multiple Cases at Once with Bulk Update for more information on how to do this.
 
 

What happens when a case is deleted?

Deleted cases are kept for 1 week before being permanently removed. You can find the cases you've deleted by going to the Deleted Cases filter, or by doing a search of  "status:deleted". Before the 7 days are up, you can navigate to the deleted case and click "Undelete Case" in the bottom left of the Case tab to re-open the case.

However, it is not removed from Business Insights reporting, as the reporting is event driven and the time stamp of the event is logged for the case and is not deleted when the case is deleted. For a workaround for cases that have not yet been permanently deleted please refer to Ability to Remove Deleted Cases From Business Insights

Note: Cases in the "Deleted" status cannot be edited. They can only be reopened, and then edited.


Note: The feature(s) in this article requires the Standard Plan or above. To upgrade your account, log in to the Admin panel and click "Billing" on the right. See the overview of our pricing plans or reach out to Sales for more info.
 

Related Articles